My Maine Experience

Summer 2018: The Maine Experience. My Maine experience was about adventure and getting up close and personal with my favorite artist.

I was introduced to Andrew Wyeth in my senior year of high school. My high school art teachers had a love for realism, the outdoors and nature. Naturally, I followed their guidance and influence. My senior year art project was to find an artist and create a final project around them. I discovered Andrew Wyeth. An American artist whose paintings spoke to me on many levels. His art was realistic, simple and genuine. All the qualities I sought in my own work. I have always been inspired by my landscapes and the “subject” of my surroundings. This was also Andrew Wyeth. He painted the “what” and the “where” he lived and was exposed to. His surroundings are some of his most treasured and influential art pieces to this day.

In 2008, I moved to New England and I have always wanted to visit the site of one of Andrew’s most influential identities: The Olson House. In the summer of 2018, I left my family behind and did just that. I travelled to Rockland, Maine and embarked on my first solo adventure to intimately discover my beloved artist Andrew Wyeth.

https://www.farnsworthmuseum.org/event/the-wyeth-experience-2/2018-09-22/

 

 

 

Leave a comment